top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarol Vaccariello

Grandmother’s Deer Story – or something like that

I live in a house on a quarter acre of land. Not too much and just enough -you know, the mowing and care it takes to keep everything looking good. The responsibility of being a caregiver for a Sacred portion of Mother Earth is a responsibility that I take very seriously. It is my responsibility that I feel honored to share. Every day, I marvel at the beauty all around me. I love living in Ohio where we share distinct four seasons and have real winters and real heat waves, beautiful spring flowers and unbelievably gorgeous fall foliage.



I think I have shared some of this with you – the Mother deer who showed up one day to meet me and case the place. Next day I found her little newborn in my Sacred Fire Pit. She left the little one with me all day. So obedient. It would stand and stretch and lay right back down with the Sacred Circle of the Fire Pit. Twilight brought a storm and the fawn never having experienced rain became frightened. It jumped at the rain and snapped at the heavy drops. Then it ran, jumping and bucking around the yard until it found the gate and was gone.


Next morning Mama showed up and I didn’t see the fawn. I was worried they had not found each other. Next day Mama brought the little one and they slept behind the fence for a while. Once I saw them and she knew I had, they left. I was no longer concerned from the little one.


This is the NEW news (nothing FAKE about it!). I was sharing this unravelling true story with a friend and she suggested that it would make a wonderful children’s book. She, being an artist by trade, offered to do the illustrations.


I wrote the story, sent it to Lynne to start the illustration process. She requested some photos of the deer, of course I have photos. Also, photos of my yard, the fence Mama jumped, the Cedar tree she laid under before giving birth, the remnants of the plants, flowers, and trees that she has eaten in my yard, where she sleeps on the other side of the split rail fence, and more.


Now we are exploring ways to publish and the possibility of audio for the book. Since I am a natural storyteller, I would love to tell the story, while a child turns the pages and looks at the pictures.


Will keep you posted.


What is your dream project? What would you like to gift the world? Has an opportunity taken you by surprise and you never expected to do anything like that? Did you say “yes” or did you let everything and anything stop you from embracing your opportunity? What will you do next time? Of course, there will be a next time. Probably just as soon as you are ready to say “YES!”


Let me hear from you,

Carol

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page